EXCLUSIVE ! DM The God Releases “Loser” Mixtape and Track by Track!

The long wait is finally over! Cleveland MC DM The God has finally released his long waited Mitape “Loser” as a Heart Riot Exclusive! We also had DM sit down for an exclusive track by track explanation of each song on the mixtape. Sit back, press play. and read along to each track!

The Top- This one was made to explain that I just make music because I love it. I mean, I’d be lying if I said I didn’t want to make it big at all, but the main thing for me is having a release for everything bin my brain, and that’s music. I make it because I love it.

 
New Soul- New soul was a reinvention of sorts. Almost a re-branding. For a while I was still trying to find my voice in music so I never really felt like it was me. But now I know who I am and I want to represent that in my music. So this song was a way of saying “this is the new me.”

Work ft. Benji C – Exactly the title. Haha. The song is about work. Not my Day job, but working on music. Which I always say is my second job. So its just a track that goes hard about clocking in and doing it thing .

For the Record- A PSA of the cockiness I have lol no. It’s filled with bars like “I’m the best at everything I do” which is kind of cliche in this genre honestly but, I made it to say that I put in and excessive amount of work for years and years to get where I am, so I know I’m good at it. It’s more of confidence than cockiness, though a thin line it may be.

Countless Time- I was all bin the feels with this song. Just thinking about past relationships and moving on and all that. So I’ve heard the same story “countless times” so I just had to go and do my own thing and try to find the right person.

Clones ft C~Frost – This was a fun one to record. It’s a weird beat but i love it. The topic is pretty simple, Clones. Everyone sounds the same. Some of my favorite bars in the song says “I’m tired of you bitches all sounding the same/ youre all sounding lame, with the same damn name / with the same old flow that nus easy to repeat/ take back your microphone I hope you got the receipt” Which is pretty self explanatory with this generation all having “lil so and so” or “young whatever” over the same trap beat with simple rhyme patterns. Clones.

Loser- The title track for the mixtape . Its kind of an ironic track. But it’s more about being proud of the “Loser” label. I was picked on growing up. Getting called a nerd, geek, freak, spaz.. loser, all of that. But through it all I’ve stayed true to myself. I never changed. I never switched up who I was. So this track is pretty much saying I’m cool with being a loser, because I’m still realer than a lot of people-n nowadays. Everyone’s always trying to put on this “thug/gangster” persona. I grew up in a hood environment. So I literally do have that background and im still a nerdy ass loser. I’m me.

Doin’ This for Eratik- Just a banger. It’s a track talking about how you may be making music or doing something of the sort that i do. But you don’t do it like me.

Connect ft Jonny Bobak & Jupiter – This is the sexy song haha no. I’m terrible at the cliche “sexy songs” with me being a hopeless romantic and all. But it’s always fun to push myself and dabble into genres and topics i don’t normally do. So this is what that is.

With an Actress ft Wolfe St Marquise – One big 4 minute metaphor. Haha. It’s pretty much saying don’t mess around with fake women. Just using a ton of actress and movie references hence the title. It was definitely a fun track bro record the instrumental is very upbeat so it makes for a fun song

Ralph Macchio – THE KARATE KID! I did this just to have fun honestly, this is why I love making music. I was hype as hell recording this song and I’m just as hype when I perform it. I love Ralph Macchio. So this song is sort of a homage to him as well as saying “I’m the kid” or I’m the one haha.

Addicted ft Lance Waste – A love song with drug references. Which is funny because I don’t do drugs. But I’ve had to deal with them throughout my life whether it be family or friends. but anyways, this is a “your love is my drug” kind of song. Because love can fuck you up just as much if not worse than some drugs.

Hungover – The aftermath of addicted. Haha Nawh. This one I wrote while I was hungover from a night out. So I wrote about how sore I was and how my head was pounding but I still had to go to work. And it talks about how when you feel that sick, you never want to see a beer again, burnt-out know for a fact as soon as you’re better you’re gonna do the same damn thing again. It’s a chill track with some nice relatable lyrics so I love it.

Gods ft Prometheus – This track I wanted to just go hard. It was one of the first tracks I recorded while thinking about changing my MC name to “DM the God”. I’m a pretty big fan of mythology so it was extremely fun to incorporate some of that over a bass heavy beat and just go off.

History ft C-Reckless – Bordering narcissism mixed with syllabic rhyming. This was a kind of cocky track. Like a “History is written by the victors” so everyone is “History” because I won. Haha. Another metaphors track, but I love this one. Definitely one of my favorite recorded verses to date.

BONUS* Cancer Cover Cover – A cover of Twenty One Pilots cover of My Chemical Romance’s song “Cancer” both bands are pretty big in my life especially MCR. I grew up with them being a huge musical influence in my life and they still are. And twenty one pilots did a cover that I loved just as much as the original so I was like you know what. Let me do it to. I recorded a cover version of both. But I liked this one more. So I wanted to share it.
Leave a Reply

